Experience Goldsboro's historic downtown, as well as the abundant appeal of the area.  Our landmarks are reminders of the hard work and success of the past.  Many consider our town a living museum where history is preserved amidst a variety of things to do and see, and our rural charm makes Wayne County one of the most beautiful areas of the state to visit.
In 1874, the City of Goldsboro purchased 2 1/3 acres of land from E.E. Faircloth, W.R. Parker and J.E. Peterson for $200. The land was the former burial plot of local plantation owner General James Rhodes and was to be used as an African American cemetery. Adjacent to Waynesborough Historical Village, Elmwood Cemetery is home to the grave of Marine Pfc. Dan Bullock. Bullock is believed to be the youngest serviceman killed in action during the Vietnam War.
In 1869, the Quakers offered to provide a free school for African American children, if the parents could furnish a building. The land where the School Street School is now located was purchased, and the school opened. In 1882, Goldsboro Grade School assumed support of the school.

In 1956, the school celebrated 30 years of accreditation and two years later, a national alumni association organization was chartered. The group, “Dillard/ Goldsboro Alumni and Friends, Incorporated,” attracts thousands of visitors each year and has established a full service community facility and the H.V. Brown Hall. The hall accommodates functions of 500 and is available as a venue for banquets, receptions, and other gatherings.
Goldsboro’s oldest and most popular park is in the center of town on Park Avenue. The park was donated to the City in 1890 by Solomon and Henry Weil in memory of their brother, Herman. Herman Park’s facilities include 10 lighted tennis courts, three picnic shelters, the historic park house and fountain, a gazebo, a goldfish pond, a children’s playground, and a miniature train. Visitors can enjoy a train ride on weekends from 1:00 – 5:00 p.m., April through September. Herman Park is open year-round until 11:00 p.m. (919) 739-7480
Built in 1924, the Hotel Goldsboro was the fifth hotel constructed on this site. The hotel, located at 104 N. Center Street, has historically held the focal point of the Central Business District.

Goldsboro’s unique Union Station, located at the end of Walnut Street on 101 North Carolina Street, was built in 1909 to accommodate the Atlantic Coast, Norfolk and Southern, and the Southern Railway. The historic structure was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, identifying its importance in architectural history.

101 North Carolina Street

Built in 1914, this landmark hosts a WWI memorial and a marker denoting the execution of NC’s first surveyor, John Lawson, by local Indians. The courthouse’s restoration and addition project won the Preservation North Carolina Gertrude S. Carroway Award for Merit.

224 E. Walnut St., Goldsboro, NC 27530


Training & Boarding Used in World War II as a USO, the museum, located in the heart of downtown  Goldsboro, memorializes Wayne County history with rotating exhibits, a permanent War Between the States exhibit and a Wall of Fame honoring notable Wayne County natives. The museum continually collects, preserves, studies, and exhibits objects illustrating the history of man and nature in Wayne County.

116 N. William St., Goldsboro, NC 27530 | (919) 734-5023

Tours for groups and students by appointment.

This recreated village borders the Neuse River and the Little River. Step back into time and wander through the 11 structures that comprise the park and date back to the 1800’s. Waynesborough Village has over 150 acres to enjoy with over five miles of walking trails, boat launches, camping, and fishing sites. Facilities are available to accommodate weddings, receptions, business meetings, picnics, and family
  • Guided tours with advance registration
  • Motor Coach Parking
  • Picnic area & Restrooms
  • Primitive Camping
  • Pets allowed outside only with leash; Assistive pets permitted in building
 801 S. US 117, Goldsboro, NC 27530 | (919) 731-1653
Designed in 1853 by Colonel Charles Nelson, this historically significant cemetery features an 1883 Confederate Monument underneath, which lies the mass grave of 800 Confederate soldiers. Among the historic graves, are the gravesites of Texas soldier Jarad K. White, former North Carolina Governor Curtis Brogden, and first Secretary of the Army General Kenneth Claiborne Royall. The Willow Dale’s Jewish section hosts women’s rights activist and founder of the NC League of Women Voters, Gertrude Weil.

306 E. Elm St., Goldsboro, NC 27530 | (919) 750-2203
Temple Oheb Shalom was built in 1886 and was only the second Jewish house of worship in North Carolina. Local builder Milton Harding designed the twostory red brick synagogue in a Romanesque Revival style that remains virtually unchanged today.